Reviews

You Were There Too, by Colleen Oakley

dizzybibliophile's review against another edition

Go to review page

4.0

4.5 stars

cassies_books_reviews's review against another edition

Go to review page

5.0

Oh my gosh my heart is still full from this book! This book is going to stick with me for a while I still find myself thinking about it this morning, I finished this book last night! Mia and Harrison are married and seem to have the perfect marriage. They have recently moved into a new home in a new town , so Harrison can work at a smaller hospital. Mia whose an artist hopes to have her art displayed in the gallery but she’s turned down. Mia is desperately wanting to start a family but she has lost not one but a couple of babies due miscarriages. Mia has been having dreams that involve a man she has never met for many years now. One day at the grocery store she spots the man she dreamed about but lost him In the crowd! The next day while visiting Harrison at the hospital she meets the man again! His name is Oliver and he’s with his sister who came in with an emergency and Harrison saved her. Over dinner at Oliver’s sisters as a thank you to Harrison, Oliver discloses to Mia that he to has been dreaming about her. They both have no idea why but his dreams never have happy endings. Mia and Oliver start trying to understand what their connection is. Not only his Mia trying to figure out her and Oliver’s dreams , but she’s also trying to make sense of changes within Harrison and how she can save her marriage. I do want to say this book isn’t a love triangle but Mia trying to figure what seems like two very different lives one in dreams and one in her real life. What jumped out at me and what I loved is the near misses and how magic is in our every day life. The ending was so unpredictable and I was left speechless and with tears in my eyes! Five heartfelt stars!

lyndsm's review against another edition

Go to review page

4.0

You Were There Too is a great read for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Emily Giffin’s books. It is a very emotional read and includes themes of infertility, fun violence, and grief. Some parts of the book were slow in my opinion. There are a few chapters told from the perspectives of minor characters. While reading those chapters, they seemed unnecessary, but by the end of the book I understood why the author included them. I’d recommend having tissues on hand for the last few chapters of the book!

talonvictoria's review against another edition

Go to review page

5.0

This review will be a little different. Maybe a little “story-telling-ish”. For that, I am sorry. If you only like to read about opinions on a book, or why I loved / didn’t love a book, I’d maybe skip this review of mine.

Firstly: You Were There Too was electrifying. Jarring. Captivating. And raw. If you like the types of books that Taylor Jenkins Reid writes— you will devour this one. It was FULL of characters with depth. Full of them. I thought the author did a fantastic job with the relationships, the struggles, and the way they reacted and handled the things they did.

Okay, story time:

For years, I’m talking years. Like, the first I can remember is from when I was 13. I have dreamed about a person. He’s always in my dreams, he has no name, sometimes I don’t even think he has a face. But he’s always there. And when I am around him there is such a powerful pull. A connection. Something so strong I wake up and still feel the ping in my chest of his absence. Our interactions are always platonic, strictly friends being around each other, sometimes at places as random as Walmart. Or me seeing him in the audience at my wedding. But the pull is there for him.

But I’ve never met him.

For 16 years I’ve never once come across this person. Not even for a brief second. I would know it. I know I would. So reading about Mia’s experience meeting Oliver after the years of dreaming about him, in a non-sexual way, was SO enjoyable for me to read. I loved it. I loved them together, the way they fit, the way they responded to each other. They complimented each other so well. But I also loved Harrison. I loved him and Mia together. I respected the way Mia handled everything so much. I just really loved this book.

You Were There Too was a fun journey for someone like me who has experienced this type of re-occurring dream. Or even the ones who are hopeless romantics. Or even the ones who like to have your heart ripped out and handed to you on a silver platter. Enjoy!

ms_matou's review against another edition

Go to review page

4.0

The ending is going to upset some romance readers, but I loved it. Not what I was expecting.

mandycifuentes's review against another edition

Go to review page

4.0

I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this one as much as I did! It seemed predictable but it wasn’t, and the dream component offered some mystery. A great “easy” read that isn’t cookie cutter!

cortnyjoy's review against another edition

Go to review page

5.0

I loved this story. Hands down my favorite novel so far this year.

As someone who dreams vividly almost every night, the plot struck a beautiful chord with me. Though I’m sure I would have enjoyed it just as much if I wasn’t a dreamer.

Mia and Harrison are a happily married couple who recently gave up their city life to pursue the peace of small-town living. She’s an artist. He’s a surgeon. And though their personalities and interests vary, they share a stable, abiding love for each other. Oakley’s portrayal of their relationship was so relatable. I appreciated her attention to nuance. I found it gripping as the couple traversed obstacles like pregnancy losses, temptation, job stress, changing desires, and depression.

For years, Mia has encountered an unknown man in her dreams. He’s so real, so vivid, yet she’s able to separate him from her waking world...until she meets him face to face...Oliver...and discovers...he dreams about her too.

Together, the two attempt to make sense of these dreams. Their power and intensity something only Mia and Oliver can truly understand. Sometimes they’re nightmares, sometimes they’re steamy, and sometimes they’re somewhere in the middle. Two strangers who dream about each other, who encounter the same landscapes, who’ve known each other before ever meeting? There must be a reason. Or so they believe.

The entire story unfolded so beautifully. Mia’s internal struggle...her love and devotion to Harrison, her excitement and attraction to Oliver, her longing for a baby and for the spark that once ignited her marriage...the author did a phenomenal job writing lovable characters, especially Harrison and Oliver, which really pulled me in to Mia’s experiences. I could acutely feel her emotional tug-of-war. And then the ending.

inliterarylove's review against another edition

Go to review page

5.0

You Were There Too stole my heart and captured all of my attention. I simply could not stop reading this latest novel by Colleen Oakley. She has created amazingly unique stories in her books and each one somehow tops the last.

Dreams are a fascinating thing we experience and no one really knows why. Is it our mind decompressing the day, making sense of our emotions, our stresses? Can we predict the future? Do they mean absolutely nothing at all? What if we dream about someone and then meet them? Which I coincidentally did this weekend and it blew me away. I didn’t even remember the dream until I was in the moment. This wasn’t just deja vu. This was a portion of a dream I specifically remember having. Creeped me out a little to be honest. Anyway, as I was saying. Oakley takes this mysterious phenomenon almost all of us experience and gives us something so emotional, raw, and imaginative, it makes you believe the wildest things are true.

You Were There Too will grab you in a hold and won’t let go until the final page. You’ll fight yourself on whether to devour it or savor it. This is one of the most unique stories I have ever read and it was expertly executed.

I received an advanced copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

annikarhyan's review against another edition

Go to review page

3.0

3.5

taralpittman's review against another edition

Go to review page

4.0

**Thank you to Berkley for the free copy!**

“Maybe instead of wondering why we’re all connected, what’s important - the only thing that’s important - is to know that we are.” ⁣

YOU WERE THERE TOO is the first novel I’ve read by author Colleen Oakley, but it will not be my last. In fact, I’m definitely going to check out some of her backlist titles. ⁣

If you’re a fan of Taylor Jenkins Reid, this novel reminds me a bit of MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE (one of my faves), and I think you’d enjoy this one, as well! ⁣