Reviews tagging 'Suicide attempt'

A Broken Blade by Melissa Blair

3 reviews

missgarceau's review against another edition

Go to review page

adventurous dark mysterious tense fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.25


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

kowhaiii's review against another edition

Go to review page

adventurous dark emotional mysterious tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.5

This was a great book! I loved Keera and her struggles throughout the story. I found her relationships alright, but somewhat stale at times. Wasn't a huge fan of the ending, but I'll have to wait for the sequel to really decide! Loved the diversity and queer representation in this book. I really couldn't fault the world, premise, or character concepts if I tried!

A Broken Blade was a brilliant debut novel with wonderful world building and memorable characters. I have many unanswered questions in the best and worst ways, and I can't wait for the series to continue! :D

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

beforeviolets's review against another edition

Go to review page

adventurous mysterious tense fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0

I signed up for a mystery and I got a new favorite book??? I certainly was not expecting that!
(Also if you're interested in helping solve the mystery, there is a Google Doc available with clues here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1f7rsy_2mJIS9wZFEjNwmN0kMJb2_k1Mc?usp=sharing)

This is a new adult fantasy perfect for fans of Six of Crows. It follows Keera, who is the lead assassin and spy for the King. When a mysterious person called The Shadow starts making moves that seem to threaten the Crown, Keera is called to find, unmask, and stop them. This book is fast-paced and action-packed, balanced out with a delectable enemies to lovers, a comforting found family, and a sprinkle of spice. It is SO addicting, and I literally finished it in just over 24 hours - with a break for sleep, of course - and though it was partly in order to solve the mystery, it was also because this book is genuinely that good and I never wanted to set it down. Genius marketing ploy aside, the writing is pure brilliance.

The thing I feel like I need to gush about the most in this book is the representation. Essentially all the characters of this world are queer until proven straight. The MC is canonically queer and POC and all of the characters, aside from a few, are POC as well. There is a side character that is disabled and though her on-page presence is brief, it is powerful. She is described as a wheelchair user and the thought that has gone into the way that she would move, function, and even dress was incredible thoughout. And moreover, her disability never gets in the way of her success, as a valuable member of the Crown. It is obvious that the author cares deeply about positive and diverse representation, and it greatly elevates the material. In fact, I found an anti-semitic character description in this book and upon messaging the author about it, they thanked me and we discussed some ways to change it so that it can be fixed in future printings. THAT's how you listen, folks.

Now, I can't talk about this book without mentioning the romance. The main romance in this book is a m/f enemies to lovers and OH MY GOD I think this rivals the enemies to lovers plotline in The Wolf and The Woodsman, which y'all should know I LOVE.
Spoiler I mean he literally kisses her MID-FIGHT and then she moans while she stabs him in the chest
And the thing I greatly appreciate about the romance is despite the fact that it is m/f, it feels very queer (which is good, because the characters are queer!). What I mean by this is that what makes their relationship feel so brilliant doesn't correlate to gender or gender roles at all. The things that they find sexy and attractive about the other are things like strength and beauty and kindness, not based around the concepts of masculine and feminine. Honestly, the compliments they gave to each other and the way that they trusted each others' independence and skill and the way they listened to each other was what made the relationship so incredible for me. It felt as though they were people to each other first, and their gender didn't matter to either of them.

Another thing that I felt was handled very well was the MC's alcoholism. The character's struggle is intense and honest and raw, and the topic itself is handled with such grace and care. Alcoholism is usually portrayed quite poorly in other fantasy worlds, and it was really nice to see the way it was approached in this book. 

Lastly, I feel as though I should mention that the biggest over-arching theme of this book is the negative effects of colonization both on a large scale and an individual scale. It specifically shows the way that individuals live within a colonized society: the different types of coping mechanisms that are used for the sake of survival both mental and physical, and the forced assimilation of marginalized communities within that society. It discusses how it feels to be reduced down to an identity, the boxes individuals must live within in order to survive within their assigned identity, and how it feels to feel powerless against the system that put them there. It held wonderful conversation about how those that have been colonized often don't have the privilege of acting under their own moral compasses; how they have to do what they can to keep themselves and others alive and safe and should not be judged for the actions they take to survive, regardless of the consequences. (No ethical consumption under capitalism, for example.)

I truly can not speak of this book highly enough, and am pleasantly surprised to have found a new world of characters to love out of what was initially just a bit to me. If you were on the fence about this book, thinking it might just be a mediocre book hiding under a large marketing campaign, I can assure you that that is far from the truth. The marketing campaign is a well-planned treasure map to the absolute gem that is this book. I can not WAIT to read the rest of this series.

P.S. Good soup.

Expand filter menu Content Warnings
More...