The Fortunes of Jaded Women by Carolyn Huynh

The Fortunes of Jaded Women

Carolyn Huynh with VyVy Nguyen (Narrator)

9 hours, 29 minutes first pub 2022 (editions)

fiction literary emotional funny hopeful fast-paced

Description

For fans of Jonathan Tropper, KJ Dell’Antonia, and Kevin Kwan, this “sharp, smart, and gloriously extra” (Nancy Jooyoun Kim, The Last Story of Mina Lee) debut follows a family of estranged Vietnamese women—cursed to never know love or happiness—as...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 1,239 reviews

Moods

funny 74%
emotional 71%
hopeful 50%
lighthearted 43%
reflective 37%
inspiring 10%
mysterious 7%
tense 7%
sad 6%
adventurous 5%
challenging 4%
relaxing 4%
informative 2%
dark 1%

Pace

medium 55%
fast 34%
slow 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 57% | A mix: 36% | Plot: 6%

Strong character development?

Yes: 76% | It's complicated: 19% | No: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 53% | It's complicated: 37% | No: 8%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 83% | No: 8% | It's complicated: 5% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 89% | It's complicated: 6% | No: 2%

Average rating

3.82

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...