Defy the Night by Brigid Kemmerer

448 pages first pub 2021 (editions)

fiction fantasy young adult adventurous emotional mysterious medium-paced

Description

From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard, about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who wil...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 4,340 reviews

Moods

adventurous 95%
mysterious 49%
emotional 45%
tense 44%
dark 28%
hopeful 26%
challenging 17%
inspiring 12%
funny 11%
sad 9%
reflective 6%
lighthearted 5%
relaxing 1%

Pace

medium 59%
fast 34%
slow 5%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 69% | Plot: 20% | Character: 10%

Strong character development?

Yes: 80% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 7%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 4%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 58% | Yes: 20% | It's complicated: 13% | N/A: 8%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 60% | No: 20% | It's complicated: 16% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.21

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...