These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

These Violent Delights

These Violent Delights #1

Chloe Gong

fiction fantasy historical romance young adult adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced

439 pages | first published 2020

Edition information

Description

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.The year is 1926, an...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 22351 reviews

Moods

adventurous 80%
mysterious 76%
dark 69%
tense 58%
emotional 40%
challenging 14%
sad 10%
funny 8%
hopeful 4%
reflective 4%
informative 2%
inspiring 2%
lighthearted 1%

Pace

medium 65%
slow 18%
fast 16%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 64% | Plot: 29% | Character: 5%

Strong character development?

Yes: 56% | It's complicated: 25% | No: 16% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 72% | It's complicated: 18% | No: 8%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 95% | It's complicated: 2% | No: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 59% | It's complicated: 23% | No: 14% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

4.04

See all reviews...